A Novel Natter: Asking for Books as Gifts

Last week I asked for your thoughts on giving books as gifts.  This week I’m looking at the other side of that discussion:

Asking for Books as Gifts

Did I ever tell you that I love books?  No, I didn’t think so.  But I do, and usually when asked what I want for birthdays or Christmas, there are always a few books on my wish list.

This year has been no different, other than the fact that I now have this blog and so my book wish list is bigger than ever (there are over 130 on my Amazon Wish List!).

I have a birthday coming up (on the 18th) and when asked what I wanted, I’ve responded with books  and Pandora charms.  That’s pretty much all I want, I don’t need or want anything else.  Apart from maybe a new book shelf when I buy all those on my wish list!

I have a lot of books, and read a pretty wide variety of authors, so I know it must be hard to buy a book gift for me.  I would usually offer a short list to choose from, but then I can’t buy anything off that list until I know which ones have been bought for me.  But then if I just ask for a  gift card, there’s no surprise in that, and less presents to open on the day!

I want to know if you ask for books as gifts, and how you go about it.  

Do you offer a short list, a long list, ask for specific titles, or just request the gift card and buy your own?
Are you okay asking for a specific title, and the gift not being a surprise?
Would you rather not be gifted books at all?

17 thoughts on “A Novel Natter: Asking for Books as Gifts

  1. I actually did this for Christmas, when my family asked. I told them all I wanted was Pacific Rim, The Hobbit Extended edition, the new Hunger Games paperbacks, and the 15th anniversary Harry Potter boxed set. That’s it. They’re response was: “But you always get books and movies! We want to get you something else!” -_- I can never win!

    Like this

    • Ohhh, I really want that HP set too. I think I will end up buying it for myself. I keep being told that I have too many books already, but if that’s what I want then I don’t see the problem. I haven’t seen the new HG set though, I have them on Kindle but would love a set for my shelf.

      Like this

  2. This is a good discussion topic. I really really like getting books as gifts, but I always feel so awkward when people ask…being like “oh okay I want this, this, or this title,” like I’m basically telling them exactly what to get me. I know how much I love giving people gifts, and I feel like that would almost ruin it for me if somebody gave me a specific list. I probably only really feel comfortable enough with my parents to tell them exactly what I want.

    This year, I posted a wish list on my blog, so maybe my friends/family will see it and take ideas from that. Obviously not everybody can do that, but I guess it kind of creates the illusion of a surprise/gives the gift giver some control and happiness, especially if you have a long list.

    Like this

  3. Actually, I rarely ask for books as gifts :D

    HAHA does that surprise you? XD Actually, I usually ask for money, which I then use to buy books :D I don’t directly ask for books because it robs me of the opportunity to scour the bookstores, which is one of my favorite things about being a bibliophile :) So yeah, that’s me XD

    Like this

  4. I love being gifted books :) I always get a thrill when I open a present and it’s a book, they are still, by far, my favorite gift! Only my boyfriend and sister really have the guts to get me actual books though because everyone else is aware that I have so many it’s a hit or miss whether I already have it so I do get a lot of gift cards. Which I’m also ok with because I will definitely use!! My sister meticulously goes through my Goodreads if she buys me one to ensure that I don’t already have it (thank goodness for the tbr-own shelf I have). My boyfriend gets me to make a list of books that i haven’t read and want and ones that I have read and want. Then he picks from the list and buys although he is also really good at remembering books that I really want and cant find, or just haven’t read and he has been known to sneak those into the pile as well. All in all, I love being gifted books :)

    Like this

  5. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up (#9) |

  6. Pingback: My Favorite Kind of Problem | Full-Time Writer Mom

  7. I give them a list of all the books that I can think of, and then I give it to them and tell them to buy the cheapest option. I’m not really shameless about book gifiting, because I make it a point to return the favor.

    What sucks is that I usually remember this book that I wanted way after giving them the list. And what sucks even more is the fact that the books I want aren’t easily to be found in the Philippines, so . . . *sigh*

    Like this

    • I’ve given a list to some people in the past but then one those books has gone on sale and I then can’t buy it for myself at the bargain price in case they picked it from the list. It sucks that you don’t have as much availability in the Philippines.

      Like this

  8. I’ve been asking for books all my life. My mom always says now “What do you want BESIDES books?” Umm….bookshelves?

    I told my husband not to worry about buying me a gift this year. I already went on a bookstore shopping spree. :P He went and bought a laptop. Can you imagine how many books I could buy for the price of a laptop? OMG!!!

    Like this

  9. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: November 2013 | My Novel Opinion

  10. Pingback: Bookish Recap: November 10th – 16th | A Bookish Heart

Leave a Reply

